My name is Gigi. I used to be an accountant. Once upon a time, I was married, with 2 children, living my dream as an accountant for a large fortune 500 company. That’s right, I was the boring one who has wanted to be an accountant since I was 5. I was ridiculously happy, too. Then, the economy fell apart.

I lost my job, even though we had always joked about how accounting was recession proof.

And then, I lost my husband.

Suddenly, I was a single mom of 2 growing boys, unemployed, with no idea how to do basic household tasks like grocery shopping and daily cleaning. I’m not proud of it, but my husband was a stay at home parent and he kept us clean, happy, and well fed.

So, I set off on a journey to become THAT mom. The one who could do it all. And, after falling and crashing a million times, I found a way to make it work. Now, I run my own design business and budget on an income of around 30k.

Recently, I have seen a lot of new blogs about budgeting that have made me laugh…. and cry. Blogs about living scare because they make 100k. Or blogs that tell us all we need to budget is cut out the daily coffee runs (honestly, most of us who budget don’t buy a coffee at a store every day). I saw a lot of blogs that shamed moms and dads who didn’t do and know everything already. I felt like people just didn’t actually understand how to budget, and they didn’t understand the intended demographic. So, I decided to try my hand at it. I’ve been working with families in my area, helping them budget for food and bills, so I figured I should branch out.

Now, a lot of this will be specific to my area of the US. Lawrence, Kansas. However, it should work out for a lot of other areas. I’ll be mainly focusing on cooking great meals for at least 4 on the cheap and a bit of focus on other ways to manage debt and making a bit of extra money on the side.

So join me on this journey. I promise to make it fun and no parent shaming. Budgeting is hard by itself. Budgeting with kids is harder. Everything with kids is harder. The sooner you stop and realize that the sooner you can make a change.

 

See you around!

2 thoughts on “Who Am I?

  1. Truly incredible, inspired and. admired , I am a mother of 5 grown children and one 7 year old who is diagnosed with autism my husband gotten injured at work so has not been working and, I just been unemployed after 8 years as a nurse and office manager
    It is very hard budgeting, and that something I truly lacked of , I admire your story Hopefully you can share a word of inspiration on me Thank you for your story.

    Like

    1. Aww, Thanks! I hope I can get this right and hope to help people. My 10-year old is autistic, too! It can be hard just dealing with him and his needs along with the budget. We will pray for your family and hope things work out for you!

      Like

Leave a Reply

